Delivering Conference Services – Providing Professional Growth – Building Community

Call for Nominations: Support Staff Travel Grants

2023 Access Services Conference Support Staff Travel Grant

Sponsored by the Access Services Conference

Call for Nominations

Do you know a library support staff member who deserves special recognition for their work and dedication in Access Services?  

Access Services in Libraries, Inc. will be presenting travel grants for in-person attendance at the 2023 Access Services Conference to two individuals who have demonstrated outstanding work in our field.

Criteria for the Access Services Conference Support Staff Travel Grant

The Access Services Conference Support Staff Travel Grant is sponsored by Access Services in Libraries, Inc. The award recognizes two library support staff members for outstanding work and commitment in the field of Access Services.

The recipients will receive the following:

  • A citation in the conference program
  • A travel grant of $1,000 (issued directly to the recipient)
  • Registration (valued at $350) for the Annual Access Services Conference held November 14-16, 2023 at the Global Learning Center at Georgia Tech in Atlanta, GA

To qualify for the award, the candidate must be employed in a library support staff position (not a librarian position) serving in one of the fields of Access Services (public services, circulation, reserves, space management, security, student employee supervision, interlibrary loan/resource sharing, access services technology or other related areas.)  Suitability for the award will be considered based on the demonstration of outstanding work and commitment in the field of Access Services.

To be considered for this award, please submit two letters: one from the dean, director, or supervisor of the staff member addressing the criteria detailed above; and one from the nominee, briefly describing how they might benefit from attending the conference.

Letters of nomination should include:

  • Nominee’s full name, position, work address, telephone number, and  email address
  • Background on the nominee’s career in libraries
  • Description of the nominee’s achievements in the field of Access Services

Self-nominations will be accepted. Deadline for nominations is Friday, August 4, 2023.

Nomination letters and questions can be submitted to Amanda Bena, Access Services Conference Awards Committee Chair at [email protected].

The Awards Committee:

Amanda Bena (Chair), Frostburg State University

Kim Copenhaver, Emory University

Loftan Hooker, Virginia Commonwealth University

Shannon Meyer, Arlington Heights Memorial Library

Mechele Romanchock, Alfred University

Skip to content