Distinguished Achievement in Access Services Award

Distinguished Achievement in Access Services Award

Sponsored by Atlas Systems and Access Services in Libraries, Inc.

The Distinguished Achievement in Access Services Award is an annual award, started in 2014.  With a generous contribution by Generation Fifth Applications, inc., we were able to offer the very first award that celebrates and recognizes an individual for outstanding achievement, contributions, and commitment to the field of Access Services.

The recipients received an award of $500, a citation in the conference program, and registration to the annual Access Services Conference.

*2015 award was sponsored by the Access Services Conference. Atlas Systems, Inc. has generously sponsored the award since 2016.

Atlas Systems and Access Services in Libraries Inc. are co-sponsoring the award for 2023 and increased the award amount to $1000. 

Award Criteria:

To qualify, the candidate must be employed in a library and serve in one of the fields of Access Services (public services, circulation, reserves, space management, security, student employee supervision, interlibrary loan/resource sharing, access services technology or other related areas) The award is open to all levels of staff, including but not limited to librarians, who will be considered based on achievements in one of the following categories:

  1. Demonstration of sustained, outstanding, and recognized service or leadership in the field of Access Services on the regional or national level.
  2. Planning and implementing an exceptional library program or service which has served as a model for others.
  3. Significant publication(s), presentation(s) or technical innovation considered noteworthy for its contribution to Access Services.

Past Recipients:


Julian Aiken


Ann Snowman

Brad Warren


Brad Warren


Denise O'Shea


No Recipient


No Recipient


No Recipient


Chris Sharpe


No Recipient

Skip to content