Delivering Conference Services – Providing Professional Growth – Building Community

Now Accepting Nominations for the 2015 Distinguished Achievement in Access Services Award

Distinguished Achievement in Access Services Award

Sponsored by Generation Fifth

Call for Nominations

Do you know someone  who deserves special recognition for their work and dedication in Access Services?  

For the second year, the Access Services Conference and Generation Fifth will be presenting the Distinguished Achievement in Access Services Award to an individual who has made an extraordinary contribution to our field.  

Criteria for the “Distinguished Achievement in Access Services Award”

The Distinguished Achievement in Access Services Award is an annual award with Generation Fifth generously agreeing to sponsor the award for the first three years.  The award recognizes an individual for outstanding achievement, contributions, and commitment to the field of Access Services.  The recipient will receive an award of $500, a citation, and registration to the Annual Access Services Conference (held November 11-13, 2015 at Georgia Tech in Atlanta, Ga.).

The candidate must be employed in a library and serve in one of the fields of Access Services (circulation, reserves, collection maintenance, interlibrary loan/resource sharing, or other related areas) but is not required to be a professional librarian.  All levels of staff will be considered based on the following areas of achievement:

  1. Demonstration of sustained, outstanding, and recognized service or leadership in the field of Access Services on the regional or national level.
  2. Planning and implementing an exceptional library program or service which has served as a model for others.
  3. Significant publication(s), presentation(s) or technical innovation considered noteworthy  for its contribution to Access Services.

Deadline for nominations is July 31, 2015.  Self-nominations will be accepted.

Letters of nomination should include:

  1. Nominee’s full name, work address, telephone number, and  email address
  2. Background on the nominee’s career in libraries
  3. Description of the contributions to Access Services and special accomplishments achieved by the nominee which demonstrate the three evaluation criteria
  4. For self-nominations, a supporting letter from a colleague would also be required

Nomination letters and questions can be submitted to David McCaslin, Distinguished Achievement in Access Services Award Chair at [email protected] or contacted at 626-395-6412.

The Award Committee:

Julian Aiken, Yale Law School

Karen Glover, Georgia Tech

Bethany Hardikar, University of North Texas

Michael Krasulski, University of the Sciences

Sarah Mangrum, University of Southern Mississippi

David McCaslin, California Institute of Technology

June Power, University of North Carolina, Pembroke

Steven Roberts, Nova Southeastern University

Martha Yancey, West Virginia University

Skip to content